• Thomas Gleixner's avatar
    x86/speculation: Add prctl() control for indirect branch speculation · 9137bb27
    Thomas Gleixner authored
    Add the PR_SPEC_INDIRECT_BRANCH option for the PR_GET_SPECULATION_CTRL and
    PR_SET_SPECULATION_CTRL prctls to allow fine grained per task control of
    indirect branch speculation via STIBP and IBPB.
    
    Invocations:
     Check indirect branch speculation status with
     - prctl(PR_GET_SPECULATION_CTRL, PR_SPEC_INDIRECT_BRANCH, 0, 0, 0);
    
     Enable indirect branch speculation with
     - prctl(PR_SET_SPECULATION_CTRL, PR_SPEC_INDIRECT_BRANCH, PR_SPEC_ENABLE, 0, 0);
    
     Disable indirect branch speculation with
     - prctl(PR_SET_SPECULATION_CTRL, PR_SPEC_INDIRECT_BRANCH, PR_SPEC_DISABLE, 0, 0);
    
     Force disable indirect branch speculation with
     - prctl(PR_SET_SPECULATION_CTRL, PR_SPEC_INDIRECT_BRANCH, PR_SPEC_FORCE_DISABLE, 0, 0);
    
    See Documentation/userspace-api/spec_ctrl.rst.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarTim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
    Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
    Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
    Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
    Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
    Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
    Cc: Casey Schaufler <casey.schaufler@intel.com>
    Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com>
    Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Jon Masters <jcm@redhat.com>
    Cc: Waiman Long <longman9394@gmail.com>
    Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    Cc: Dave Stewart <david.c.stewart@intel.com>
    Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
    Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
    Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181125185005.866780996@linutronix.de
    9137bb27
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
conf.py Loading commit data...
index.rst Loading commit data...
no_new_privs.rst Loading commit data...
seccomp_filter.rst Loading commit data...
spec_ctrl.rst Loading commit data...
unshare.rst Loading commit data...