• Vlastimil Babka's avatar
    mm, proc: add KReclaimable to /proc/meminfo · 61f94e18
    Vlastimil Babka authored
    The vmstat NR_KERNEL_MISC_RECLAIMABLE counter is for kernel non-slab
    allocations that can be reclaimed via shrinker.  In /proc/meminfo, we can
    show the sum of all reclaimable kernel allocations (including slab) as
    "KReclaimable".  Add the same counter also to per-node meminfo under /sys
    
    With this counter, users will have more complete information about kernel
    memory usage.  Non-slab reclaimable pages (currently just the ION
    allocator) will not be missing from /proc/meminfo, making users wonder
    where part of their memory went.  More precisely, they already appear in
    MemAvailable, but without the new counter, it's not obvious why the value
    in MemAvailable doesn't fully correspond with the sum of other counters
    participating in it.
    
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180731090649.16028-6-vbabka@suse.czSigned-off-by: default avatarVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
    Acked-by: default avatarRoman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
    Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
    Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
    Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
    Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
    Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
    Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>
    Cc: Vijayanand Jitta <vjitta@codeaurora.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    61f94e18