• Tvrtko Ursulin's avatar
    drm/i915: Introduce per-engine workarounds · 4a15c75c
    Tvrtko Ursulin authored
    We stopped re-applying the GT workarounds after engine reset since commit
    59b449d5 ("drm/i915: Split out functions for different kinds of
    workarounds").
    
    Issue with this is that some of the GT workarounds live in the MMIO space
    which gets lost during engine resets. So far the registers in 0x2xxx and
    0xbxxx address range have been identified to be affected.
    
    This losing of applied workarounds has obvious negative effects and can
    even lead to hard system hangs (see the linked Bugzilla).
    
    Rather than just restoring this re-application, because we have also
    observed that it is not safe to just re-write all GT workarounds after
    engine resets (GPU might be live and weird hardware states can happen),
    we introduce a new class of per-engine workarounds and move only the
    affected GT workarounds over.
    
    Using the framework introduced in the previous patch, we therefore after
    engine reset, re-apply only the workarounds living in the affected MMIO
    address ranges.
    
    v2:
     * Move Wa_1406609255:icl to engine workarounds as well.
     * Rename API. (Chris Wilson)
     * Drop redundant IS_KABYLAKE. (Chris Wilson)
     * Re-order engine wa/ init so latest platforms are first. (Rodrigo Vivi)
    Signed-off-by: Tvrtko Ursulin's avatarTvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@intel.com>
    Bugzilla: https://bugzilla.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=107945
    Fixes: 59b449d5 ("drm/i915: Split out functions for different kinds of workarounds")
    Cc: Mika Kuoppala <mika.kuoppala@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
    Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
    Cc: intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
    Acked-by: default avatarRodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
    Reviewed-by: Chris Wilson's avatarChris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
    Link: https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/msgid/20181203133341.10258-1-tvrtko.ursulin@linux.intel.com
    4a15c75c
intel_lrc.c 81.4 KB