1. 04 Oct, 2017 4 commits
  2. 22 Sep, 2017 1 commit
  3. 14 Sep, 2017 1 commit
    • Michal Hocko's avatar
      mm: treewide: remove GFP_TEMPORARY allocation flag · 0ee931c4
      Michal Hocko authored
      GFP_TEMPORARY was introduced by commit e12ba74d ("Group short-lived
      and reclaimable kernel allocations") along with __GFP_RECLAIMABLE.  It's
      primary motivation was to allow users to tell that an allocation is
      short lived and so the allocator can try to place such allocations close
      together and prevent long term fragmentation.  As much as this sounds
      like a reasonable semantic it becomes much less clear when to use the
      highlevel GFP_TEMPORARY allocation flag.  How long is temporary? Can the
      context holding that memory sleep? Can it take locks? It seems there is
      no good answer for those questions.
      
      The current implementation of GFP_TEMPORARY is basically GFP_KERNEL |
      __GFP_RECLAIMABLE which in itself is tricky because basically none of
      the existing caller provide a way to reclaim the allocated memory.  So
      this is rather misleading and hard to evaluate for any benefits.
      
      I have checked some random users and none of them has added the flag
      with a specific justification.  I suspect most of them just copied from
      other existing users and others just thought it might be a good idea to
      use without any measuring.  This suggests that GFP_TEMPORARY just
      motivates for cargo cult usage without any reasoning.
      
      I believe that our gfp flags are quite complex already and especially
      those with highlevel semantic should be clearly defined to prevent from
      confusion and abuse.  Therefore I propose dropping GFP_TEMPORARY and
      replace all existing users to simply use GFP_KERNEL.  Please note that
      SLAB users with shrinkers will still get __GFP_RECLAIMABLE heuristic and
      so they will be placed properly for memory fragmentation prevention.
      
      I can see reasons we might want some gfp flag to reflect shorterm
      allocations but I propose starting from a clear semantic definition and
      only then add users with proper justification.
      
      This was been brought up before LSF this year by Matthew [1] and it
      turned out that GFP_TEMPORARY really doesn't have a clear semantic.  It
      seems to be a heuristic without any measured advantage for most (if not
      all) its current users.  The follow up discussion has revealed that
      opinions on what might be temporary allocation differ a lot between
      developers.  So rather than trying to tweak existing users into a
      semantic which they haven't expected I propose to simply remove the flag
      and start from scratch if we really need a semantic for short term
      allocations.
      
      [1] http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170118054945.GD18349@bombadil.infradead.org
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix typo]
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
      [sfr@canb.auug.org.au: drm/i915: fix up]
        Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170816144703.378d4f4d@canb.auug.org.au
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170728091904.14627-1-mhocko@kernel.orgSigned-off-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarStephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
      Acked-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
      Acked-by: default avatarVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      0ee931c4
  4. 01 Sep, 2017 8 commits
  5. 30 Aug, 2017 3 commits
  6. 28 Aug, 2017 17 commits
  7. 25 Aug, 2017 1 commit
    • Jiri Slaby's avatar
      futex: Remove duplicated code and fix undefined behaviour · 30d6e0a4
      Jiri Slaby authored
      There is code duplicated over all architecture's headers for
      futex_atomic_op_inuser. Namely op decoding, access_ok check for uaddr,
      and comparison of the result.
      
      Remove this duplication and leave up to the arches only the needed
      assembly which is now in arch_futex_atomic_op_inuser.
      
      This effectively distributes the Will Deacon's arm64 fix for undefined
      behaviour reported by UBSAN to all architectures. The fix was done in
      commit 5f16a046 (arm64: futex: Fix undefined behaviour with
      FUTEX_OP_OPARG_SHIFT usage). Look there for an example dump.
      
      And as suggested by Thomas, check for negative oparg too, because it was
      also reported to cause undefined behaviour report.
      
      Note that s390 removed access_ok check in d12a2970 ("s390/uaccess:
      remove pointless access_ok() checks") as access_ok there returns true.
      We introduce it back to the helper for the sake of simplicity (it gets
      optimized away anyway).
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Acked-by: default avatarRussell King <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk>
      Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> (powerpc)
      Acked-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> [s390]
      Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> [for tile]
      Reviewed-by: default avatarDarren Hart (VMware) <dvhart@infradead.org>
      Reviewed-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> [core/arm64]
      Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
      Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
      Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: peterz@infradead.org
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
      Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
      Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
      Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org
      Cc: Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>
      Cc: openrisc@lists.librecores.org
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
      Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170824073105.3901-1-jslaby@suse.cz
      30d6e0a4
  8. 17 Aug, 2017 1 commit
  9. 11 Aug, 2017 1 commit
    • Alexey Brodkin's avatar
      arc: Mask individual IRQ lines during core INTC init · a8ec3ee8
      Alexey Brodkin authored
      ARC cores on reset have all interrupt lines of built-in INTC enabled.
      Which means once we globally enable interrupts (very early on boot)
      faulty hardware blocks may trigger an interrupt that Linux kernel
      cannot handle yet as corresponding handler is not yet installed.
      
      In that case system falls in "interrupt storm" and basically never
      does anything useful except entering and exiting generic IRQ handling
      code.
      
      One real example of that kind of problematic hardware is DW GMAC which
      also has interrupts enabled on reset and if Ethernet PHY informs GMAC
      about link state, GMAC immediately reports that upstream to ARC core
      and here we are.
      
      Now with that change we mask all individual IRQ lines making entire
      system more fool-proof.
      
      [This patch was motivated by Adaptrum platform support]
      Signed-off-by: Alexey Brodkin's avatarAlexey Brodkin <abrodkin@synopsys.com>
      Cc: Eugeniy Paltsev <paltsev@synopsys.com>
      Tested-by: default avatarAlexandru Gagniuc <alex.g@adaptrum.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarVineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
      a8ec3ee8
  10. 10 Aug, 2017 1 commit
    • Peter Zijlstra's avatar
      locking/atomic: Fix atomic_set_release() for 'funny' architectures · 9d664c0a
      Peter Zijlstra authored
      Those architectures that have a special atomic_set implementation also
      need a special atomic_set_release(), because for the very same reason
      WRITE_ONCE() is broken for them, smp_store_release() is too.
      
      The vast majority is architectures that have spinlock hash based atomic
      implementation except hexagon which seems to have a hardware 'feature'.
      
      The spinlock based atomics should be SC, that is, none of them appear to
      place extra barriers in atomic_cmpxchg() or any of the other SC atomic
      primitives and therefore seem to rely on their spinlock implementation
      being SC (I did not fully validate all that).
      
      Therefore, the normal atomic_set() is SC and can be used at
      atomic_set_release().
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
      Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> [for tile]
      Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
      Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: davem@davemloft.net
      Cc: james.hogan@imgtec.com
      Cc: jejb@parisc-linux.org
      Cc: rkuo@codeaurora.org
      Cc: vgupta@synopsys.com
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170609110506.yod47flaav3wgoj5@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.netSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
      9d664c0a
  11. 04 Aug, 2017 2 commits