1. 07 Feb, 2014 5 commits
  2. 30 Jan, 2014 2 commits
    • Tejun Heo's avatar
      block: __elv_next_request() shouldn't call into the elevator if bypassing · 556ee818
      Tejun Heo authored
      request_queue bypassing is used to suppress higher-level function of a
      request_queue so that they can be switched, reconfigured and shut
      down.  A request_queue does the followings while bypassing.
      
      * bypasses elevator and io_cq association and queues requests directly
        to the FIFO dispatch queue.
      
      * bypasses block cgroup request_list lookup and always uses the root
        request_list.
      
      Once confirmed to be bypassing, specific elevator and block cgroup
      policy implementations can assume that nothing is in flight for them
      and perform various operations which would be dangerous otherwise.
      
      Such confirmation is acheived by short-circuiting all new requests
      directly to the dispatch queue and waiting for all the requests which
      were issued before to finish.  Unfortunately, while the request
      allocating and draining sides were properly handled, we forgot to
      actually plug the request dispatch path.  Even after bypassing mode is
      confirmed, if the attached driver tries to fetch a request and the
      dispatch queue is empty, __elv_next_request() would invoke the current
      elevator's elevator_dispatch_fn() callback.  As all in-flight requests
      were drained, the elevator wouldn't contain any request but once
      bypass is confirmed we don't even know whether the elevator is even
      there.  It might be in the process of being switched and half torn
      down.
      
      Frank Mayhar reports that this actually happened while switching
      elevators, leading to an oops.
      
      Let's fix it by making __elv_next_request() avoid invoking the
      elevator_dispatch_fn() callback if the queue is bypassing.  It already
      avoids invoking the callback if the queue is dying.  As a dying queue
      is guaranteed to be bypassing, we can simply replace blk_queue_dying()
      check with blk_queue_bypass().
      Reported-by: default avatarFrank Mayhar <fmayhar@google.com>
      References: http://lkml.kernel.org/g/1390319905.20232.38.camel@bobble.lax.corp.google.com
      Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
      Tested-by: default avatarFrank Mayhar <fmayhar@google.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      556ee818
    • Shaohua Li's avatar
      blk-mq: Don't reserve a tag for flush request · f0276924
      Shaohua Li authored
      Reserving a tag (request) for flush to avoid dead lock is a overkill. A
      tag is valuable resource. We can track the number of flush requests and
      disallow having too many pending flush requests allocated. With this
      patch, blk_mq_alloc_request_pinned() could do a busy nop (but not a dead
      loop) if too many pending requests are allocated and new flush request
      is allocated. But this should not be a problem, too many pending flush
      requests are very rare case.
      
      I verified this can fix the deadlock caused by too many pending flush
      requests.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarShaohua Li <shli@fusionio.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      f0276924
  3. 28 Jan, 2014 1 commit
  4. 22 Jan, 2014 2 commits
  5. 09 Jan, 2014 1 commit
  6. 08 Jan, 2014 2 commits
  7. 03 Jan, 2014 1 commit
  8. 31 Dec, 2013 3 commits
  9. 06 Dec, 2013 1 commit
    • Andrey Vagin's avatar
      block: fix memory leaks on unplugging block device · 85157366
      Andrey Vagin authored
      All objects, which are allocated in blk_mq_register_disk, must be
      released in blk_mq_unregister_disk.
      
      I use a KVM virtual machine and virtio disk to reproduce this issue.
      
      kmemleak: 18 new suspected memory leaks (see /sys/kernel/debug/kmemleak)
      $ cat /sys/kernel/debug/kmemleak | head -n 30
      unreferenced object 0xffff8800b6636150 (size 8):
        comm "kworker/0:2", pid 65, jiffies 4294809903 (age 86.358s)
        hex dump (first 8 bytes):
          76 69 72 74 69 6f 34 00                          virtio4.
        backtrace:
          [<ffffffff8165d41e>] kmemleak_alloc+0x4e/0xb0
          [<ffffffff8118cfc5>] __kmalloc_track_caller+0xf5/0x260
          [<ffffffff81155b11>] kstrdup+0x31/0x60
          [<ffffffff812242be>] sysfs_new_dirent+0x2e/0x140
          [<ffffffff81224678>] create_dir+0x38/0xe0
          [<ffffffff812249e3>] sysfs_create_dir_ns+0x73/0xc0
          [<ffffffff8130dfa9>] kobject_add_internal+0xc9/0x340
          [<ffffffff8130e535>] kobject_add+0x65/0xb0
          [<ffffffff813f34f8>] device_add+0x128/0x660
          [<ffffffff813f3a4a>] device_register+0x1a/0x20
          [<ffffffff813ae6f8>] register_virtio_device+0x98/0xe0
          [<ffffffff813b0cce>] virtio_pci_probe+0x12e/0x1c0
          [<ffffffff81340675>] local_pci_probe+0x45/0xa0
          [<ffffffff81341a51>] pci_device_probe+0x121/0x130
          [<ffffffff813f67f7>] driver_probe_device+0x87/0x390
          [<ffffffff813f6b3b>] __device_attach+0x3b/0x40
      unreferenced object 0xffff8800b65aa1d8 (size 144):
      
      Fixes: 320ae51f (blk-mq: new multi-queue block IO queueing mechanism)
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrey Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      85157366
  10. 05 Dec, 2013 2 commits
  11. 03 Dec, 2013 2 commits
  12. 27 Nov, 2013 1 commit
  13. 24 Nov, 2013 6 commits
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: submit_bio_wait() conversions · c170bbb4
      Kent Overstreet authored
      It was being open coded in a few places.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Joern Engel <joern@logfs.org>
      Cc: Prasad Joshi <prasadjoshi.linux@gmail.com>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@fusionio.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarNeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      c170bbb4
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Kill bio_iovec_idx(), __bio_iovec() · f619d254
      Kent Overstreet authored
      bio_iovec_idx() and __bio_iovec() don't have any valid uses anymore -
      previous users have been converted to bio_iovec_iter() or other methods.
      
      __BVEC_END() has to go too - the bvec array can't be used directly for
      the last biovec because we might only be using the first portion of it,
      we have to iterate over the bvec array with bio_for_each_segment() which
      checks against the current value of bi_iter.bi_size.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      f619d254
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      bio-integrity: Convert to bvec_iter · d57a5f7c
      Kent Overstreet authored
      The bio integrity is also stored in a bvec array, so if we use the bvec
      iter code we just added, the integrity code won't need to implement its
      own iteration stuff (bio_integrity_mark_head(), bio_integrity_mark_tail())
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
      d57a5f7c
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Convert bio_for_each_segment() to bvec_iter · 7988613b
      Kent Overstreet authored
      More prep work for immutable biovecs - with immutable bvecs drivers
      won't be able to use the biovec directly, they'll need to use helpers
      that take into account bio->bi_iter.bi_bvec_done.
      
      This updates callers for the new usage without changing the
      implementation yet.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: "Ed L. Cashin" <ecashin@coraid.com>
      Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Lars Ellenberg <drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com>
      Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
      Cc: Paul Clements <Paul.Clements@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Jim Paris <jim@jtan.com>
      Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
      Cc: Yehuda Sadeh <yehuda@inktank.com>
      Cc: Sage Weil <sage@inktank.com>
      Cc: Alex Elder <elder@inktank.com>
      Cc: ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Joshua Morris <josh.h.morris@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Philip Kelleher <pjk1939@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
      Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: linux390@de.ibm.com
      Cc: Nagalakshmi Nandigama <Nagalakshmi.Nandigama@lsi.com>
      Cc: Sreekanth Reddy <Sreekanth.Reddy@lsi.com>
      Cc: support@lsi.com
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
      Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com>
      Cc: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
      Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Guo Chao <yan@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com>
      Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com>
      Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com>
      Cc: Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com>
      Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
      Cc: Quoc-Son Anh <quoc-sonx.anh@intel.com>
      Cc: Sebastian Ott <sebott@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
      Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
      Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com>
      Cc: Seth Jennings <sjenning@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
      Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
      Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
      Cc: "Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
      Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
      Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
      Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
      Cc: drbd-user@lists.linbit.com
      Cc: nbd-general@lists.sourceforge.net
      Cc: cbe-oss-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
      Cc: xen-devel@lists.xensource.com
      Cc: virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org
      Cc: linux-raid@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: DL-MPTFusionLinux@lsi.com
      Cc: linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: devel@driverdev.osuosl.org
      Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: cluster-devel@redhat.com
      Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
      Acked-by: default avatarGeoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
      7988613b
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Abstract out bvec iterator · 4f024f37
      Kent Overstreet authored
      Immutable biovecs are going to require an explicit iterator. To
      implement immutable bvecs, a later patch is going to add a bi_bvec_done
      member to this struct; for now, this patch effectively just renames
      things.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: "Ed L. Cashin" <ecashin@coraid.com>
      Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Lars Ellenberg <drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com>
      Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
      Cc: Yehuda Sadeh <yehuda@inktank.com>
      Cc: Sage Weil <sage@inktank.com>
      Cc: Alex Elder <elder@inktank.com>
      Cc: ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Joshua Morris <josh.h.morris@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Philip Kelleher <pjk1939@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
      Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
      Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com>
      Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
      Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: linux390@de.ibm.com
      Cc: Boaz Harrosh <bharrosh@panasas.com>
      Cc: Benny Halevy <bhalevy@tonian.com>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
      Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: "Nicholas A. Bellinger" <nab@linux-iscsi.org>
      Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@fusionio.com>
      Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
      Cc: Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@dilger.ca>
      Cc: Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk.kim@samsung.com>
      Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com>
      Cc: Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@kernel.org>
      Cc: Joern Engel <joern@logfs.org>
      Cc: Prasad Joshi <prasadjoshi.linux@gmail.com>
      Cc: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
      Cc: KONISHI Ryusuke <konishi.ryusuke@lab.ntt.co.jp>
      Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>
      Cc: Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>
      Cc: Ben Myers <bpm@sgi.com>
      Cc: xfs@oss.sgi.com
      Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
      Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
      Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
      Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
      Cc: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
      Cc: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Guo Chao <yan@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
      Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com>
      Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com>
      Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com>
      Cc: Wei Yongjun <yongjun_wei@trendmicro.com.cn>
      Cc: "Roger Pau Monné" <roger.pau@citrix.com>
      Cc: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
      Cc: Stefano Stabellini <stefano.stabellini@eu.citrix.com>
      Cc: Ian Campbell <Ian.Campbell@citrix.com>
      Cc: Sebastian Ott <sebott@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
      Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
      Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
      Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchand@redhat.com>
      Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
      Cc: Peng Tao <tao.peng@emc.com>
      Cc: Andy Adamson <andros@netapp.com>
      Cc: fanchaoting <fanchaoting@cn.fujitsu.com>
      Cc: Jie Liu <jeff.liu@oracle.com>
      Cc: Sunil Mushran <sunil.mushran@gmail.com>
      Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
      Cc: Namjae Jeon <namjae.jeon@samsung.com>
      Cc: Pankaj Kumar <pankaj.km@samsung.com>
      Cc: Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
      Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>6
      4f024f37
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: submit_bio_wait() conversions · 33879d45
      Kent Overstreet authored
      It was being open coded in a few places.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Joern Engel <joern@logfs.org>
      Cc: Prasad Joshi <prasadjoshi.linux@gmail.com>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@fusionio.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarNeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>
      33879d45
  14. 22 Nov, 2013 1 commit
  15. 20 Nov, 2013 2 commits
  16. 19 Nov, 2013 1 commit
  17. 15 Nov, 2013 1 commit
  18. 14 Nov, 2013 1 commit
  19. 13 Nov, 2013 1 commit
    • Peter Zijlstra's avatar
      block: Use u64_stats_init() to initialize seqcounts · 90d3839b
      Peter Zijlstra authored
      Now that seqcounts are lockdep enabled objects, we need to explicitly
      initialize runtime allocated seqcounts so that lockdep can track them.
      
      Without this patch, Fengguang was seeing:
      
        [    4.127282] INFO: trying to register non-static key.
        [    4.128027] the code is fine but needs lockdep annotation.
        [    4.128027] turning off the locking correctness validator.
        [    4.128027] CPU: 0 PID: 96 Comm: kworker/u4:1 Not tainted 3.12.0-next-20131108-10601-gbad570d #2
        [    4.128027] Hardware name: Bochs Bochs, BIOS Bochs 01/01/2011
        [    ...     ]
        [    4.128027] Call Trace:
        [    4.128027]  [<7908e744>] ? console_unlock+0x353/0x380
        [    4.128027]  [<79dc7cf2>] dump_stack+0x48/0x60
        [    4.128027]  [<7908953e>] __lock_acquire.isra.26+0x7e3/0xceb
        [    4.128027]  [<7908a1c5>] lock_acquire+0x71/0x9a
        [    4.128027]  [<794079aa>] ? blk_throtl_bio+0x1c3/0x485
        [    4.128027]  [<7940658b>] throtl_update_dispatch_stats+0x7c/0x153
        [    4.128027]  [<794079aa>] ? blk_throtl_bio+0x1c3/0x485
        [    4.128027]  [<794079aa>] blk_throtl_bio+0x1c3/0x485
        ...
      
      Use u64_stats_init() for all affected data structures, which initializes
      the seqcount.
      Reported-and-Tested-by: default avatarFengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
      Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      [ Folded in another fix from the mailing list as well as a fix to that fix. Tweaked commit message. ]
      Signed-off-by: John Stultz's avatarJohn Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1384314134-6895-1-git-send-email-john.stultz@linaro.org
      [ So I actually think that the two SOBs from PeterZ are the right depiction of the patch route. ]
      Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
      90d3839b
  20. 09 Nov, 2013 1 commit
  21. 08 Nov, 2013 3 commits