Commit e8c26ab6 authored by Tim Chen's avatar Tim Chen Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm/swap: skip readahead for unreferenced swap slots

We can avoid needlessly allocating page for swap slots that are not used
by anyone.  No pages have to be read in for these slots.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/0784b3f20b9bd3aa5552219624cb78dc4ae710c9.1484082593.git.tim.c.chen@linux.intel.comSigned-off-by: default avatarTim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatar"Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Aaron Lu <aaron.lu@intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Hillf Danton <hillf.zj@alibaba-inc.com>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> escreveu:
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@kernel.org>
Cc: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov.dev@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 4b3ef9da
......@@ -398,6 +398,7 @@ extern unsigned int count_swap_pages(int, int);
extern sector_t map_swap_page(struct page *, struct block_device **);
extern sector_t swapdev_block(int, pgoff_t);
extern int page_swapcount(struct page *);
extern int __swp_swapcount(swp_entry_t entry);
extern int swp_swapcount(swp_entry_t entry);
extern struct swap_info_struct *page_swap_info(struct page *);
extern bool reuse_swap_page(struct page *, int *);
......@@ -492,6 +493,11 @@ static inline int page_swapcount(struct page *page)
return 0;
}
static inline int __swp_swapcount(swp_entry_t entry)
{
return 0;
}
static inline int swp_swapcount(swp_entry_t entry)
{
return 0;
......
......@@ -323,6 +323,10 @@ struct page *__read_swap_cache_async(swp_entry_t entry, gfp_t gfp_mask,
if (found_page)
break;
/* Just skip read ahead for unused swap slot */
if (!__swp_swapcount(entry))
return NULL;
/*
* Get a new page to read into from swap.
*/
......
......@@ -798,7 +798,7 @@ swp_entry_t get_swap_page_of_type(int type)
return (swp_entry_t) {0};
}
static struct swap_info_struct *_swap_info_get(swp_entry_t entry)
static struct swap_info_struct *__swap_info_get(swp_entry_t entry)
{
struct swap_info_struct *p;
unsigned long offset, type;
......@@ -814,13 +814,8 @@ static struct swap_info_struct *_swap_info_get(swp_entry_t entry)
offset = swp_offset(entry);
if (offset >= p->max)
goto bad_offset;
if (!p->swap_map[offset])
goto bad_free;
return p;
bad_free:
pr_err("swap_info_get: %s%08lx\n", Unused_offset, entry.val);
goto out;
bad_offset:
pr_err("swap_info_get: %s%08lx\n", Bad_offset, entry.val);
goto out;
......@@ -833,6 +828,24 @@ static struct swap_info_struct *_swap_info_get(swp_entry_t entry)
return NULL;
}
static struct swap_info_struct *_swap_info_get(swp_entry_t entry)
{
struct swap_info_struct *p;
p = __swap_info_get(entry);
if (!p)
goto out;
if (!p->swap_map[swp_offset(entry)])
goto bad_free;
return p;
bad_free:
pr_err("swap_info_get: %s%08lx\n", Unused_offset, entry.val);
goto out;
out:
return NULL;
}
static struct swap_info_struct *swap_info_get(swp_entry_t entry)
{
struct swap_info_struct *p;
......@@ -986,6 +999,28 @@ int page_swapcount(struct page *page)
return count;
}
/*
* How many references to @entry are currently swapped out?
* This does not give an exact answer when swap count is continued,
* but does include the high COUNT_CONTINUED flag to allow for that.
*/
int __swp_swapcount(swp_entry_t entry)
{
int count = 0;
pgoff_t offset;
struct swap_info_struct *si;
struct swap_cluster_info *ci;
si = __swap_info_get(entry);
if (si) {
offset = swp_offset(entry);
ci = lock_cluster_or_swap_info(si, offset);
count = swap_count(si->swap_map[offset]);
unlock_cluster_or_swap_info(si, ci);
}
return count;
}
/*
* How many references to @entry are currently swapped out?
* This considers COUNT_CONTINUED so it returns exact answer.
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment