Commit aa8d22a1 authored by Minchan Kim's avatar Minchan Kim Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: swap: SWP_SYNCHRONOUS_IO: skip swapcache only if swapped page has no other reference

When SWP_SYNCHRONOUS_IO swapped-in pages are shared by several
processes, it can cause unnecessary memory wastage by skipping swap
cache.  Because, with swapin fault by read, they could share a page if
the page were in swap cache.  Thus, it avoids allocating same content
new pages.

This patch makes the swapcache skipping work only if the swap pte is
non-sharable.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1507620825-5537-1-git-send-email-minchan@kernel.orgSigned-off-by: default avatarMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Ilya Dryomov <idryomov@gmail.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 0bcac06f
......@@ -463,6 +463,7 @@ extern unsigned int count_swap_pages(int, int);
extern sector_t map_swap_page(struct page *, struct block_device **);
extern sector_t swapdev_block(int, pgoff_t);
extern int page_swapcount(struct page *);
extern int __swap_count(struct swap_info_struct *si, swp_entry_t entry);
extern int __swp_swapcount(swp_entry_t entry);
extern int swp_swapcount(swp_entry_t entry);
extern struct swap_info_struct *page_swap_info(struct page *);
......@@ -589,6 +590,11 @@ static inline int page_swapcount(struct page *page)
return 0;
}
static inline int __swap_count(struct swap_info_struct *si, swp_entry_t entry)
{
return 0;
}
static inline int __swp_swapcount(swp_entry_t entry)
{
return 0;
......
......@@ -2890,15 +2890,8 @@ int do_swap_page(struct vm_fault *vmf)
if (!page) {
struct swap_info_struct *si = swp_swap_info(entry);
if (!(si->flags & SWP_SYNCHRONOUS_IO)) {
if (vma_readahead)
page = do_swap_page_readahead(entry,
GFP_HIGHUSER_MOVABLE, vmf, &swap_ra);
else
page = swapin_readahead(entry,
GFP_HIGHUSER_MOVABLE, vma, vmf->address);
swapcache = page;
} else {
if (si->flags & SWP_SYNCHRONOUS_IO &&
__swap_count(si, entry) == 1) {
/* skip swapcache */
page = alloc_page_vma(GFP_HIGHUSER_MOVABLE, vma, vmf->address);
if (page) {
......@@ -2908,6 +2901,14 @@ int do_swap_page(struct vm_fault *vmf)
lru_cache_add_anon(page);
swap_readpage(page, true);
}
} else {
if (vma_readahead)
page = do_swap_page_readahead(entry,
GFP_HIGHUSER_MOVABLE, vmf, &swap_ra);
else
page = swapin_readahead(entry,
GFP_HIGHUSER_MOVABLE, vma, vmf->address);
swapcache = page;
}
if (!page) {
......
......@@ -1328,6 +1328,13 @@ int page_swapcount(struct page *page)
return count;
}
int __swap_count(struct swap_info_struct *si, swp_entry_t entry)
{
pgoff_t offset = swp_offset(entry);
return swap_count(si->swap_map[offset]);
}
static int swap_swapcount(struct swap_info_struct *si, swp_entry_t entry)
{
int count = 0;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment