Commit 7bf99fb6 authored by Peter Oberparleiter's avatar Peter Oberparleiter Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

gcov: enable GCOV_PROFILE_ALL for x86_64



Enable gcov profiling of the entire kernel on x86_64. Required changes
include disabling profiling for:

* arch/kernel/acpi/realmode and arch/kernel/boot/compressed:
  not linked to main kernel
* arch/vdso, arch/kernel/vsyscall_64 and arch/kernel/hpet:
  profiling causes segfaults during boot (incompatible context)
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Li Wei <W.Li@Sun.COM>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <michaele@au1.ibm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heicars2@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <mschwid2@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: WANG Cong <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 2521f2c2
......@@ -70,6 +70,7 @@ KBUILD_CFLAGS := $(LINUXINCLUDE) -g -Os -D_SETUP -D__KERNEL__ \
$(call cc-option, -mpreferred-stack-boundary=2)
KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option, -m32)
KBUILD_AFLAGS := $(KBUILD_CFLAGS) -D__ASSEMBLY__
GCOV_PROFILE := n
$(obj)/bzImage: asflags-y := $(SVGA_MODE)
......
......@@ -15,6 +15,7 @@ KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option,-ffreestanding)
KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option,-fno-stack-protector)
KBUILD_AFLAGS := $(KBUILD_CFLAGS) -D__ASSEMBLY__
GCOV_PROFILE := n
LDFLAGS := -m elf_$(UTS_MACHINE)
LDFLAGS_vmlinux := -T
......
......@@ -24,6 +24,8 @@ CFLAGS_vsyscall_64.o := $(PROFILING) -g0 $(nostackp)
CFLAGS_hpet.o := $(nostackp)
CFLAGS_tsc.o := $(nostackp)
CFLAGS_paravirt.o := $(nostackp)
GCOV_PROFILE_vsyscall_64.o := n
GCOV_PROFILE_hpet.o := n
obj-y := process_$(BITS).o signal.o entry_$(BITS).o
obj-y += traps.o irq.o irq_$(BITS).o dumpstack_$(BITS).o
......
......@@ -42,6 +42,7 @@ KBUILD_CFLAGS := $(LINUXINCLUDE) -g -Os -D_SETUP -D_WAKEUP -D__KERNEL__ \
$(call cc-option, -mpreferred-stack-boundary=2)
KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option, -m32)
KBUILD_AFLAGS := $(KBUILD_CFLAGS) -D__ASSEMBLY__
GCOV_PROFILE := n
WAKEUP_OBJS = $(addprefix $(obj)/,$(wakeup-y))
......
......@@ -123,6 +123,7 @@ quiet_cmd_vdso = VDSO $@
-Wl,-T,$(filter %.lds,$^) $(filter %.o,$^)
VDSO_LDFLAGS = -fPIC -shared $(call ld-option, -Wl$(comma)--hash-style=sysv)
GCOV_PROFILE := n
#
# Install the unstripped copy of vdso*.so listed in $(vdso-install-y).
......
......@@ -34,7 +34,7 @@ config GCOV_KERNEL
config GCOV_PROFILE_ALL
bool "Profile entire Kernel"
depends on GCOV_KERNEL
depends on S390 || X86_32
depends on S390 || X86
default n
---help---
This options activates profiling for the entire kernel.
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment