Commit 1af22eba authored by Kan Liang's avatar Kan Liang Committed by Ingo Molnar

perf/x86/intel: Disable userspace RDPMC usage for large PEBS

Userspace RDPMC cannot possibly work for large PEBS, which was introduced in:

  b8241d20699e ("perf/x86/intel: Implement batched PEBS interrupt handling (large PEBS interrupt threshold)")

When the PEBS interrupt threshold is larger than one, there is no way
to get exact auto-reload times and value for userspace RDPMC.  Disable
the userspace RDPMC usage when large PEBS is enabled.

The only exception is when the PEBS interrupt threshold is 1, in which
case user-space RDPMC works well even with auto-reload events.
Signed-off-by: default avatarKan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: acme@kernel.org
Fixes: b8241d20699e ("perf/x86/intel: Implement batched PEBS interrupt handling (large PEBS interrupt threshold)")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1518474035-21006-6-git-send-email-kan.liang@linux.intel.comSigned-off-by: Ingo Molnar's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent ceb90d9e
......@@ -2117,7 +2117,8 @@ static int x86_pmu_event_init(struct perf_event *event)
event->destroy(event);
}
if (READ_ONCE(x86_pmu.attr_rdpmc))
if (READ_ONCE(x86_pmu.attr_rdpmc) &&
!(event->hw.flags & PERF_X86_EVENT_FREERUNNING))
event->hw.flags |= PERF_X86_EVENT_RDPMC_ALLOWED;
return err;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment