Commit 007b7560 authored by Andy Lutomirski's avatar Andy Lutomirski Committed by Ingo Molnar

x86/boot: Run reserve_bios_regions() after we initialize the memory map

reserve_bios_regions() is a quirk that reserves memory that we might
otherwise think is available.  There's no need to run it so early,
and running it before we have the memory map initialized with its
non-quirky inputs makes it hard to make reserve_bios_regions() more
intelligent.

Move it right after we populate the memblock state.
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mario Limonciello <mario_limonciello@dell.com>
Cc: Matt Fleming <mfleming@suse.de>
Cc: Matthew Garrett <mjg59@srcf.ucam.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/59f58618911005c799c6c9979ce6ae4881d907c2.1470821230.git.luto@kernel.orgSigned-off-by: Ingo Molnar's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 82ba4fac
......@@ -25,8 +25,6 @@ static void __init i386_default_early_setup(void)
/* Initialize 32bit specific setup functions */
x86_init.resources.reserve_resources = i386_reserve_resources;
x86_init.mpparse.setup_ioapic_ids = setup_ioapic_ids_from_mpc;
reserve_bios_regions();
}
asmlinkage __visible void __init i386_start_kernel(void)
......
......@@ -183,7 +183,6 @@ void __init x86_64_start_reservations(char *real_mode_data)
copy_bootdata(__va(real_mode_data));
x86_early_init_platform_quirks();
reserve_bios_regions();
switch (boot_params.hdr.hardware_subarch) {
case X86_SUBARCH_INTEL_MID:
......
......@@ -1101,6 +1101,8 @@ void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)
efi_find_mirror();
}
reserve_bios_regions();
/*
* The EFI specification says that boot service code won't be called
* after ExitBootServices(). This is, in fact, a lie.
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment