Commit 005bd007 authored by Juergen Gross's avatar Juergen Gross Committed by Ingo Molnar

perf/x86: Modify error message in virtualized environment

It is known that PMU isn't working in some virtualized environments.

Modify the message issued in that case to mention why hardware PMU
isn't usable instead of reporting it to be broken.

As a side effect this will correct a little bug in the error message:
The error message was meant to be either of level err or info
depending on the environment (native or virtualized). As the level is
taken from the format string and not the printed string, specifying
it via %s and a conditional argument didn't work the way intended.
Signed-off-by: default avatarJuergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: acme@kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1470051427-16795-1-git-send-email-jgross@suse.comSigned-off-by: Ingo Molnar's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent d761f3ed
......@@ -262,10 +262,13 @@ static bool check_hw_exists(void)
return true;
msr_fail:
pr_cont("Broken PMU hardware detected, using software events only.\n");
printk("%sFailed to access perfctr msr (MSR %x is %Lx)\n",
boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_HYPERVISOR) ? KERN_INFO : KERN_ERR,
reg, val_new);
if (boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_HYPERVISOR)) {
pr_cont("PMU not available due to virtualization, using software events only.\n");
} else {
pr_cont("Broken PMU hardware detected, using software events only.\n");
pr_err("Failed to access perfctr msr (MSR %x is %Lx)\n",
reg, val_new);
}
return false;
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment