• Peter Zijlstra's avatar
    perf/x86: Fix possible Spectre-v1 indexing for x86_pmu::event_map() · 46b1b577
    Peter Zijlstra authored
    > arch/x86/events/intel/cstate.c:307 cstate_pmu_event_init() warn: potential spectre issue 'pkg_msr' (local cap)
    > arch/x86/events/intel/core.c:337 intel_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'intel_perfmon_event_map'
    > arch/x86/events/intel/knc.c:122 knc_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'knc_perfmon_event_map'
    > arch/x86/events/intel/p4.c:722 p4_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'p4_general_events'
    > arch/x86/events/intel/p6.c:116 p6_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'p6_perfmon_event_map'
    > arch/x86/events/amd/core.c:132 amd_pmu_event_map() warn: potential spectre issue 'amd_perfmon_event_map'
    
    Userspace controls @attr, sanitize @attr->config before passing it on
    to x86_pmu::event_map().
    Reported-by: default avatarDan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
    Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
    Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
    Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    46b1b577
core.c 60 KB