Commit 0350f0e7 authored by Daniel Vetter's avatar Daniel Vetter

CONTRIBUTING: commit rights docs

This tries to align with the X.org communities's long-standing
tradition of trying to be an inclusive community and handing out
commit rights fairly freely.

We also tend to not revoke commit rights for people no longer
regularly active in a given project, as long as they're still part of
the larger community.

Finally make sure that commit rights, like anything happening on fd.o
infrastructre, is subject to the fd.o's Code of Conduct.

v2: Point at MAINTAINERS for contact info (Daniel S.)

v3:
- Make it clear that commit rights are voluntary and that committers
  need to acknowledge positively when they're nominated by someone
  else (Keith).
- Encourage committers to drop their commit rights when they're no
  longer active, and make it clear they'll get readded (Keith).
- Add a line that maintainers and committers should actively nominate
  new committers (me).

v4: Typo (Petri).

v5: Typo (Sean).

v6: Wording clarifications and spelling (Jani).

v7: Require an explicit commitment to the documented merge criteria
and rules, instead of just the implied one through the Code of Conduct
threat (Jani).
Acked-by: default avatarAlex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
Acked-by: Arkadiusz Hiler's avatarArkadiusz Hiler <arkadiusz.hiler@intel.com>
Acked-by: Daniel Stone's avatarDaniel Stone <daniel@fooishbar.org>
Acked-by: Eric Anholt's avatarEric Anholt <eric@anholt.net>
Acked-by: Gustavo Padovan's avatarGustavo Padovan <gustavo@padovan.org>
Acked-by: Petri Latvala's avatarPetri Latvala <petri.latvala@intel.com>
Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
Cc: Arkadiusz Hiler <arkadiusz.hiler@intel.com>
Cc: Ben Widawsky <ben@bwidawsk.net>
Cc: Daniel Stone <daniel@fooishbar.org>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@gmail.com>
Cc: Eric Anholt <eric@anholt.net>
Cc: Gustavo Padovan <gustavo@padovan.org>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
Cc: Kenneth Graunke <kenneth@whitecape.org>
Cc: Kristian H. Kristensen <hoegsberg@google.com>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Petri Latvala <petri.latvala@intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: Sean Paul <seanpaul@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Keith Packard's avatarKeith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter's avatarDaniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Acked-by: Harry Wentland's avatarHarry Wentland <harry.wentland@amd.com>
Acked-by: Sean Paul's avatarSean Paul <seanpaul@chromium.org>
parent e5e8dafc
......@@ -51,4 +51,52 @@ A short list of contribution guidelines:
- Changes to the testcases are automatically tested. Take the results into
account before merging.
Commit rights
-------------
Commit rights will be granted to anyone who requests them and fulfills the
below criteria:
- Submitted a few (5-10 as a rule of thumb) non-trivial (not just simple
spelling fixes and whitespace adjustment) patches that have been merged
already.
- Are actively participating on discussions about their work (on the mailing
list or IRC). This should not be interpreted as a requirement to review other
peoples patches but just make sure that patch submission isn't one-way
communication. Cross-review is still highly encouraged.
- Will be regularly contributing further patches. This includes regular
contributors to other parts of the open source graphics stack who only
do the oddball rare patch within igt itself.
- Agrees to use their commit rights in accordance with the documented merge
criteria, tools, and processes.
Apply for an account (and any other account change requests) through
https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/AccountRequests/
and please ping the maintainers if your request is stuck.
Committers are encouraged to request their commit rights get removed when they
no longer contribute to the project. Commit rights will be reinstated when they
come back to the project.
Maintainers and committers should encourage contributors to request commit
rights, especially junior contributors tend to underestimate their skills.
Code of Conduct
---------------
Please be aware the fd.o Code of Conduct also applies to igt:
https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/CodeOfConduct/
See the MAINTAINERS file for contact details of the igt maintainers.
Abuse of commit rights, like engaging in commit fights or willfully pushing
patches that violate the documented merge criteria, will also be handled through
the Code of Conduct enforcement process.
Happy hacking!
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment