Commit 56623cbd authored by Simon McVittie's avatar Simon McVittie

Prepare version 1.4.4

parent 2b595988
Alban Crequy <alban.crequy@collabora.co.uk>
Alexander Larsson <alexl@redhat.com>
Anders Carlsson <andersca@codefactory.se>
Andre Heinecke <aheinecke@intevation.de>
Artem Bityutskiy <Artem.Bityutskiy@nokia.com>
Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
Benjamin Reed <ranger@befunk.com>
......@@ -7,12 +9,14 @@ Benjamin Reed <rangerrick@befunk.com>
Benjamin Reed <ranger@Sin.local>
Brian Cameron <brian.cameron@sun.com>
Christian Dywan <christian.dywan@lanedo.com>
Christian Dywan <christian@lanedo.com>
Christian Ehrlicher <Ch.Ehrlicher@gmx.de>
Christian Persch (GNOME) <chpe@gnome.org>
Colin Walters <walters@lightbox.localdomain>
Colin Walters <walters@space-ghost.verbum.private>
Colin Walters <walters@verbum.org>
Colin Watson <cjwatson@ubuntu.com>
Cristian Rodríguez <cristian.rodriguez@opensuse.org>
Cyril Brulebois <kibi@debian.org>
Daniel P. Berrange <dan@berrange.com>
Daniel Reed <djr@redhat.com>
......@@ -44,6 +48,7 @@ Johannes Carlsson <johannes.carlsson.x@sonyericsson.com>
John (J5) Palmieri <johnp@redhat.com>
Jon Gosting <yukarionsen@gmail.com>
Jon Trowbridge <trow@ximian.com>
Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Kimmo Hämäläinen <kimmo.hamalainen@nokia.com>
Kjartan Maraas <kmaraas@gnome.org>
Kristian Høgsberg <krh@redhat.com>
......@@ -64,6 +69,7 @@ Michael Meeks <michael.meeks@novell.com>
Michael Meeks <michael@ximian.com>
Mikael Hallendal <micke@codefactory.se>
Mikael Hallendal <micke@imendio.com>
Mike McQuaid <mike@mikemcquaid.com>
Miloslav Trmac <mitr@volny.cz>
Murray Cumming <murrayc@murrayc.com>
Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
......@@ -72,6 +78,7 @@ Olivier Andrieu <oliv__a@users.sourceforge.net>
Oswald Buddenhagen <ossi@kde.org>
Owen Fraser-Green <owen@discobabe.net>
Patrick von Reth <patrick.vonreth@gmail.com>
Pau Garcia i Quiles <pgquiles@elpauer.org>
Paul Bolle <pebolle@tiscali.nl>
Peter Breitenlohner <peb@mppmu.mpg.de>
Peter Kümmel <syntheticpp@gmx.net>
......@@ -82,6 +89,7 @@ Ralf Habacker <ralf.habacker@freenet.de>
Ralf Habacker <Ralf.Habacker@freenet.de>
Ralf Habacker <ralf@s15291359.onlinehome-server.info>
Ray Strode <rstrode@redhat.com>
Richard A. Hankins <richard.a.hankins@gmail.com>
Richard Hughes <richard@hughsie.com>
Richard Hult <rhult@codefactory.se>
Richard Hult <richard@imendio.com>
......@@ -96,6 +104,7 @@ Sebastian Sauer <sebsauer@kdab.net>
Seth Nickell <seth@gnome.org>
Simon McVittie <simon.mcvittie@collabora.co.uk>
Sjoerd Simons <sjoerd@luon.net>
Sledz <sledz@MOBIL-400-586.intern.dresearch.de>
Thiago Macieira <thiago@kde.org>
Tim Dijkstra <tim@famdijkstra.org>
Tobias Mueller <fdo-bugs@cryptobitch.de>
......@@ -108,5 +117,7 @@ unknown <Habacker@.(none)>
Waldo Bastian <bastian@kde.org>
William Lachance <wrlach@gmail.com>
Will Thompson <will.thompson@collabora.co.uk>
Wulf C. Krueger <philantrop@exherbo.org>
Xan Lopez <xan@gnome.org>
Yaakov Selkowitz <yselkowitz@users.sourceforge.net>
Zack Rusin <zack@kde.org>
......@@ -152,17 +152,13 @@ To make a release of D-Bus, do the following:
- verify that the libtool versioning/library soname is
changed if it needs to be, or not changed if not
- update the file NEWS based on the ChangeLog
- update the file NEWS based on the git history
- update the AUTHORS file based on the ChangeLog
- update the AUTHORS file with "make update-authors" if necessary
- add a ChangeLog entry containing the version number
you're releasing ("Released 0.3" or something)
so people can see which changes were before and after
a given release
- the version number should have major.minor.micro even
if micro is 0, i.e. "1.0.0" and "1.2.0" not "1.0"/"1.2"
- the version number should have major.minor.micro, even
if micro is 0, i.e. "1.0.0" and "1.2.0" not "1.0"/"1.2"; the micro
version should be even for releases, and odd for intermediate snapshots
- "make distcheck" (DO NOT just "make dist" - pass the check!)
......@@ -176,8 +172,8 @@ To make a release of D-Bus, do the following:
then simply created an unsigned annotated tag:
"git tag -a -m 'Released X.Y.Z' dbus-X.Y.Z".
- bump the version number up in configure.in, and commit
it. Make sure you do this *after* tagging the previous
- bump the version number up in configure.in (so the micro version is odd),
and commit it. Make sure you do this *after* tagging the previous
release! The idea is that git has a newer version number
than anything released.
......@@ -210,29 +206,21 @@ To make a release of D-Bus, do the following:
After making a ".0" stable release
===
After releasing, when you increment the version number in git, also
move the ChangeLog to ChangeLog.pre-X-Y where X-Y is what you just
released, e.g. ChangeLog.pre-1-0. Then create and cvs add a new empty
ChangeLog. The last entry in ChangeLog.pre-1-0 should be the one about
"Released 1.0".
Add ChangeLog.pre-X-Y to EXTRA_DIST in Makefile.am.
We create a branch for each stable release; sometimes the branch is
not done immediately, instead it's possible to wait until someone has
a not-suitable-for-stable change they want to make and then branch to
allow committing that change.
The branch name should be dbus-X.Y-branch which is a branch that has
The branch name should be dbus-X.Y which is a branch that has
releases versioned X.Y.Z
To branch:
git branch dbus-X.Y-branch
git branch dbus-X.Y
and upload the branch tag to the server:
git-push origin dbus-X.Y-branch
git push origin dbus-X.Y
To develop in this branch:
git-checkout dbus-X.Y-branch
git checkout dbus-X.Y
Environment variables
===
......
......@@ -13,7 +13,7 @@ D-Bus 1.4.4 (UNRELEASED)
• Improve some error code paths (fd.o #29981, fd.o #32264, fd.o #32262,
fd.o #33128, fd.o #33277, fd.o #33126, NB#180486)
• Avoid possible symlink attacks in /tmp during compilation (fd.o #32854)
• Tidy up dead code (fd.o #25306, fd.o #33128, NB#180486)
• Tidy up dead code (fd.o #25306, fd.o #33128, fd.o #34292, NB#180486)
• Improve gcc malloc annotations (fd.o #32710)
• If the system bus is launched via systemd, protect it from the OOM killer
• Documentation improvements (fd.o #11190)
......@@ -21,11 +21,14 @@ D-Bus 1.4.4 (UNRELEASED)
fd.o #15922, LP#241619)
• Cope with invalid files in session.d, system.d (fd.o #19186,
Debian #230231)
• Don't distribute generated files that embed our builddir (fd.o #30285)
• Don't distribute generated files that embed our builddir (fd.o #30285,
fd.o #34292)
• Raise the system bus's fd limit to be sufficient for its configuration
(fd.o #33474, LP#381063)
• Fix syslog string processing
• Ignore -Waddress
• Remove broken gcov parsing code and --enable-gcov, and replace them
with lcov HTML reports and --enable-compiler-coverage (fd.o #10887)
• Windows:
· avoid live-lock in Windows CE due to unfair condition variables
• OpenBSD:
......
......@@ -3,7 +3,7 @@ AC_PREREQ(2.52)
m4_define([dbus_major_version], [1])
m4_define([dbus_minor_version], [4])
m4_define([dbus_micro_version], [3])
m4_define([dbus_micro_version], [4])
m4_define([dbus_version],
[dbus_major_version.dbus_minor_version.dbus_micro_version])
AC_INIT(dbus, [dbus_version])
......@@ -41,7 +41,7 @@ LT_CURRENT=8
## increment any time the source changes; set to
## 0 if you increment CURRENT
LT_REVISION=3
LT_REVISION=4
## increment if any interfaces have been added; set to 0
## if any interfaces have been changed or removed. removal has
......
Markdown is supported
0%
or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment